Transferring an active domain name entails switching the company that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer itself, you’ll have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS entry updates through the new registrar company. The transfer procedure is standard with most universal and country-specific top-level domain name extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain involves several necessary procedures and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a safety feature, which is being adopted by more and more registry operators. It is a default feature supported by all gTLDs. If a domain name is locked, it will be impossible to initiate a transfer procedure, so nobody can even attempt to register your domain name. The domain lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain is registered and all new domains that support this functionality are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Web Hosting

If you purchase a Linux web hosting from our company, you will be able to manage all domain names registered through us using our Hepsia Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with only a couple of clicks. All registrations will be displayed in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the hosting Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll see a mini padlock sign. Clicking it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain is locked and you would like to transfer it away, you’ll just have to click once more and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domain names are managed in the exact same location as the web hosting account itself, you will not have to sign in and out of different tools.

Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Servers

If you have registered a domain through us and you’d like to transfer it away, you can quickly unlock it through the very same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to manage your semi-dedicated server account. All registrations will be shown alphabetically in your account and you’ll notice a small padlock icon next to each domain name there, provided that its extension supports the registrar lock feature. You can see whether the domain is locked or not by clicking on this icon and change the current status by clicking on it once again. You can then continue and initiate the domain transfer straight away without waiting for the status to change on WHOIS lookup sites, as the change will propagate instantaneously without you or us having to do anything else.